Friday, September 21, 2012

Book Review: Brainrush by Richard Bard









When terminally ill combat pilot Jake Bronson emerges from an MRI with extraordinary cognitive powers, everyone wants a piece of his talent--including Battista, one of the world's most dangerous terrorists. Thrust into a deadly chase across Europe and Afghanistan to save his love and her autistic-savant daughter, Jake discovers that his newfound talents carry a hidden price that threatens the entire human race.

An original weave of current events bound by colorful locations and cutting-edge technology, Bard's novel is a must-read for fans of Michael Crichton, James Rollins, Clive Cussler, and Brad Thor. A dynamic mix of fast-paced action and thought provoking soul, this book challenges the reader to keep pace with every sharp turn and shocking twist. Acclaimed by fans of action, sci-fi, and political thrillers alike, Brainrush is one of the most innovative and entertaining books of the year.

Brainrush intertwines reality, medical mythology, and science fiction into a very exciting tale of a man whose brain is too efficient.  There is no "getting into" this book, from the very first it grabs you and keeps going.  You're caught up until the very end.

The characters are believable with interesting personalities.  It's the exploits that are questionable, even considering its science fiction tag.  Still, it was enjoyable to read.

The ending was not satisfying at all.  It was obviously written to provide a basis for the author to launch a second novel, which I believe has already been published.

 
Ralph gives this book 4 Bookworms.

No comments:

Post a Comment